Drug & Alcohol Abuse Council

Next Meeting

  • Thursday, August 25, 2016
  • 7:30 - 9:00 a.m.
  • Chesapeake Culinary Center, 512 Franklin Street, Denton (2nd floor)


Name Role Type Term Term
George Abner Ex-Officio President of the Board of Education Representative N/A N/A N/A
Warden Ruth Colbourne  Ex-Officio Correctional Facility Superintendent or Representative N/A N/A N/A
Taneesha Deshields
(Designee;James Brown)
Ex-Officio Regional Director of Juvenile Services or Representative N/A N/A N/A
Lt. Ron Dixon Ex-Officio Sheriff Representative N/A N/A N/A
Judge Douglas Everngam Ex-Officio District Court Judge or Representative N/A N/A N/A
Judge Karen Jensen
(Designee- Missy Gallagher)
Ex-Officio Circuit Court Judge or Representative N/A N/A N/A
Jonathan Newell, Esq. Ex-Officio County States Attorney or Representative N/A N/A N/A
Dale Oberander Ex-Officio Director of Local Social
Services Representative
Dr. Leland Spencer Ex-Officio Health Officer or Representative N/A N/A N/A
Sara Visintainer Ex-Officio/
County Commissioner Representative N/A N/A N/A
Jeremy Wright Ex-Officio Regional Director of Parole and Probation or Representative N/A N/A N/A
 Michael Campbell Professional Substance Abuse Provider to Co-occurring Substance Abuse and Mental Health Disorders Third 10/31/08 10/31/17
Samantha Parker Secretary Knowledgeable and Active on Substance Abuse Issues Second 10/31/09 10/31/17
 Sue Runnels Member Knowledgeable about Substance Abuse Issues Second 11/1/09 10/31/17
Vernon Spriggs Professional Substance Abuse Prevention Provider First 5/22/13 10/31/16
Confidential Citizen Recipient of Addictions Treatment Services First 11/1/12 10/31/16
Ex-Officio District Public Defender N/A N/A N/A
Vernon Springs  Professional Substance Abuse Provider First 10/31/12


The Council shall consist of the following members:
  • County States Attorney
  • Director of Local Social Services Department
  • District Public Defender
  • Health Officer of the Local Health Department
  • Judge of the Circuit Court
  • Judge of the District Court
  • President of the Board of Education
  • Regional Director of the Department of Juvenile Services
  • Regional Director of the Division of Parole and Probation
  • Representative of the County Commissioners
  • Sheriff
In addition, the following members will be appointed by the Commissioners:
  • At least one individual who is knowledgeable and active on substance abuse issues that affect the county
  • At least one other individual who is knowledgeable about treatment of substance abuse in the county, including members of civic organizations, the Chamber of Commerce, health care professional organizations, or the clergy
  • At least one recipient of addictions treatment services
  • At least one substance abuse prevention provider
  • The Superintendent, Warden or Director of the local correctional facility
  • Two substance abuse providers (at least one of whom has experience with service to individuals with co-occurring substance abuse and mental health disorders)

Candidates will be gathered with dual efforts of the Board Liaison and the Commissioners Office before submitting names for the Commissioners' approval.

Term of Office
Regular members will serve four-year terms. Members who have served for two consecutive full terms shall not be reappointed for a period of two years. Terms shall extend from November 1 to October 31.

Charge / Authority
(Maryland Code, Health Article 8 ┬ž 10) 
The purpose of the Caroline County Drug and Alcohol Abuse Council shall be to serve as an advocate for a comprehensive substance abuse prevention, intervention, and treatment system for persons of all ages affected by the use or abuse of addictive substances. The council will review needs and assist in determining priorities. The council will advise those in service delivery regarding mission, long range goals, policies and procedures, and budget. They will develop and submit plans related to identified jurisdictional needs and priorities.