Ethics Commission


Next Meeting: June 2, 2016, 6:00 PM, 411 Franklin Street, Denton.  See Agenda Center for meeting agenda.

Meetings are held as necessary. Meetings are open to the public unless closed under an applicable exception as stated in the Maryland Open Meetings Act (State Government article, §10-508).

Name Type Term Term
Betty Ballas Republican First 12/10/13 12/10/16
Francis "Sonny" Callahan, Jr. Republican Third 10/1/10  9/30/16
Wayne Cole Democrat First 12/3/13 12/3/16
Berl Lovelace Democrat Second  9/6/10  9/6/16
Robert Lee Willey (Chairman) Republican Third 10/1/10  9/30/16
 Heather L. Price, Esq. Commission Staff:
County Attorney
Sara B. Visintainer Commission Staff:
Chief of Staff

The Commission consists of five members appointed by the County Commissioners. Not more than three members of the commission shall be affiliated with the same political party. 

Term of Office
Member serve terms of three years.

Charge / Authority
(Code of Public Local Laws of Caroline County, §33-3)
The Ethics Commission shall complete the following actions:
  • Conduct a public information program regarding the purposes and application of the Caroline County Code of Ethics
  • Devise forms, reports, and records generated by the Caroline County Code of Ethics
  • Process and make determinations as to complaints filed by any persons alleging violations of this chapter and to make recommendations to the County Commissioners when deemed appropriate
  • Provide written advisory opinions to persons subject to the Caroline County Code of Ethics as to the applicability of the provisions of the Caroline County Code of Ethics to them